Cost of College in District of Columbia
What does college cost in District of Columbia?
In-state public tuition and fees average $6,152 (rank 3 of 51), out-of-state $13,004, private nonprofit $40,984. The all-in four-year in-state public total is about $30,942. The least expensive public option is University of the District of Columbia at $6,152.
Average charges, four-year totals, named institutional extremes, and flagship net prices for District of Columbia, computed from the federal IPEDS file.
Updated October 22, 2026
District of Columbia sits in the least expensive third of states for public college: its average in-state tuition and fees of $6,152 rank 3 of 51 jurisdictions, 42% below the national average of $10,525. All figures on this page are computed from the federal IPEDS file for District of Columbia: 1 public and 13 private nonprofit four-year institutions, charges for academic year 2023-24, net prices for 2022-23. Living allowances (room, board, books) are the averages institutions report for their own budgets; the guide to what cost of attendance includes explains each component.
| Average annual charge, District of Columbia four-year institutions (IPEDS 2023-24) | Public in-state | Public out-of-state | Private nonprofit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $6,152 | $13,004 | $40,984 |
| Housing and food (school-reported average) | not reported | not reported | $16,237 |
| Books and supplies | $1,244 | $1,244 | $1,244 |
| Four-year total at 3% annual increases | $30,942 | $59,608 | $244,596 |
District of Columbia's public institutions are commuter campuses in the federal file and report no on-campus housing and food figure, so the four-year public totals below cover tuition, fees, and books; residents budget housing separately.
The nonresident question in District of Columbia is a 2.1-times question. Out-of-state students at the state's publics pay $13,004 on average against the resident $6,152, a premium of $6,852 a year that compounds to roughly $28,666 across a degree. Premiums of this shape are a policy choice dressed as a price: District of Columbia's publics are funded to serve residents first, and the premium is how that priority is invoiced to everyone else.
How District of Columbia compares
Inside the state, the public price is not one price. The least expensive public four-year institution in the federal file, University of the District of Columbia, published $6,152 of tuition and fees; the most expensive, University of the District of Columbia, published $6,152, a spread of 1.0 to 1 between two degrees that both say District of Columbia public on the diploma. Across 1 public four-year institutions, exactly where a student lands inside that spread is a six-figure four-year decision once living costs follow the same pattern, which they usually do.
Net price at University of the District of Columbia
The flagship test shows what aid does to the sticker at the state's best-known institution, University of the District of Columbia in Washington. Its published in-state tuition and fees are $6,152, yet the median net price paid by aided first-year students overall is $14,287, and by family income the schedule runs:
| Family income | Median net price at University of the District of Columbia |
|---|---|
| Up to $30,000 | $13,786 |
| $30,001-$48,000 | $14,589 |
| $48,001-$75,000 | $17,674 |
| $75,001-$110,000 | $12,345 |
| Over $110,000 | $20,245 |
The shape of that schedule is the institution's aid policy in one column: the lowest-income students pay $13,786, the highest-income pay $20,245, a ratio of 1.5 to 1. A steep schedule (high ratio) means the flagship spends heavily to pull low-income students in and charges affluent families nearer the sticker; a flat one means aid is spread thin or merit-driven. District of Columbia families should read their own bracket's figure as the flagship's realistic price and the sticker as its ceiling, then repeat the exercise for the other schools on their list using each school's mandated net price calculator.
The four-year view in District of Columbia
Stretch the District of Columbia averages across a degree and the ordering of choices changes. The four-year in-state public total, $30,942, works out to about $644 per month of enrollment, against a national equivalent of $100,787; the out-of-state public total of $59,608 and the private total of $244,596 bracket it. Notice what four years does to small differences: a $1,000 annual gap in tuition is a $4,184 gap by graduation, so the 'close enough' school choices families wave through in March are five-figure decisions wearing a four-figure disguise.
Translate the flagship's schedule into discounts and its policy sharpens. Against a full published year at University of the District of Columbia of about $7,396 (in-state tuition, housing, food, books), the lowest-income median net of $13,786 represents roughly -86% of the cost covered by grant aid, while the top bracket's $20,245 still sits below the full figure. The middle bracket pays $17,674, which is $3,888 more than the lowest bracket: in District of Columbia, as nationally, the aid cliff is not a cliff but a staircase, and the middle steps are where family budgets should focus.
The institutional landscape shapes every figure above. District of Columbia families choose among 1 public and 13 private nonprofit four-year institutions in the federal file. The flagship premium is visible in its own sticker: University of the District of Columbia publishes $6,152 of in-state tuition and fees, 1.0 times the state public average, the price of the research flagship's scale and selectivity. At the other end, the least expensive public sits at $6,152, about 100% of the state average, which is why 'attend a public in District of Columbia' describes price experiences that differ by more than the entire private-public gap in some other states.
Ways District of Columbia students lower the published bill
The largest lever remains the living arrangement, because housing and food average not reported for its (commuter) publics a year at District of Columbia publics, more than tuition itself at many schools. A student who can live at home converts the $7,396 sticker year into a $7,396 commuting year before aid. The second lever is sequencing: community college transfer pathways, priced in our school section, harvest the same general-education credits at a fraction of the $6,152 average before the four-year meter starts.
Regional exchange. District of Columbia does not participate in one of the four big regional tuition-exchange compacts, so the nonresident premium in the table above is the real one for most students; the mitigations are institutional merit awards aimed at out-of-state students, border-county agreements some District of Columbia institutions maintain on their own, and the residency petition described below where a genuine move supports it.
The bottom line for District of Columbia: budget $30,942 for the average in-state public degree before aid, expect the flagship's aided families to land between $13,786 and $20,245 a year by income, and treat University of the District of Columbia at $6,152 of tuition as the floor the whole system is priced above.
College costs in other states
Compare District of Columbia with the other state pages in this section, each with the same IPEDS breakdown of average charges, four-year totals, named institutional extremes, and flagship net prices, or return to the College cost hub for the calculators and the national state table:
Alabama · Alaska · Arizona · Arkansas · California · Colorado · Connecticut · Delaware · Florida · Georgia · Hawaii · Idaho · Illinois · Indiana · Iowa · Kansas · Kentucky · Louisiana · Maine · Maryland · Massachusetts · Michigan · Minnesota · Mississippi · Missouri · Montana · Nebraska · Nevada · New Hampshire · New Jersey · New Mexico · New York · North Carolina · North Dakota · Ohio · Oklahoma · Oregon · Pennsylvania · Rhode Island · South Carolina · South Dakota · Tennessee · Texas · Utah · Vermont · Virginia · Washington · West Virginia · Wisconsin · Wyoming
Frequently asked questions
How much does college cost in District of Columbia?
On IPEDS 2023-24 averages: $6,152 a year of tuition and fees in-state at publics, $13,004 out-of-state, and $40,984 at private nonprofits. The all-in four-year in-state public total with housing, food, and books at 3% annual increases is about $30,942.
What is the cheapest public college in District of Columbia?
University of the District of Columbia, at $6,152 of tuition and fees in the 2023-24 federal file, the lowest among the state's 1 public four-year institutions. The most expensive is University of the District of Columbia at $6,152.
How much aid does University of the District of Columbia give?
Its median net price for aided first-year students is $14,287 against published in-state tuition and fees of $6,152. By income, the median runs from $13,786 (up to $30,000) to $20,245 (over $110,000) in the IPEDS 2022-23 data.
Is District of Columbia a good state for out-of-state students?
That depends on the premium: nonresidents pay 2.1 times the resident tuition at District of Columbia publics on average ($13,004 vs $6,152). With no regional exchange compact, merit awards and residency reclassification are the main routes below the nonresident sticker.